Firefox users gain location tool

Posted: October 10, 2008 in Reviews
Tags: , ,

Mozilla, the company behind the Firefox browser, has released technology that helps websites detect the physical location of computers.

The system will allow users, for instance, to find local restaurants when they travel to a new town.

The Geode project is an experimental add-on ahead of a full blown launch of geolocation technology in version 3.1 of Firefox.

Users will have control over how much location information they give.

It uses technology from a firm called Skyhook which works out a computer’s location from nearby wireless networks.

Its so-called Loki system can determine location within seconds with an accuracy of about 10 to 20 metres.

Comments
  1. Julissa says:

    Many thanks for this put up! Some really inspriational designs here. LC

  2. Aw, this was a really nice post. In idea I would like to put in writing like this additionally – taking time and precise effort to make an excellent article… but what can I say… I procrastinate alot and on no account seem to get something done.

  3. I precisely needed to appreciate you yet again. I do not know what I would’ve gone through in the absence of the type of solutions provided by you over such a question. It seemed to be the horrifying problem in my opinion, nevertheless noticing the professional form you treated it forced me to jump with gladness. I am just grateful for this support as well as sincerely hope you are aware of a great job you are doing teaching the others through the use of your web blog. Most likely you’ve never met any of us.

  4. Thank you for every other informative blog. Where else may just I am getting that kind of info written in such a perfect way? I’ve a challenge that I’m just now working on, and I have been at the glance out for such info.

Leave a Reply

