Windows Xp Service Pack 3 Review

Posted: May 6, 2008 in Reviews
Tags: ,

oh boy, after a long time I got a chance again to install a bunch of digital fruits (Drivers) – Service Pack 3 for Windows Xp Pro version😀

As usual it took lot of resources when extracting the files. you can download the standalone version from my blog (link).

However, take below precautions before you install the service pack:

  • Exit all Spyware programs.
  • Disable all Antivirus Softwares, please do not try to exit these programs as they may create error messages when you try. so try not to exit Antivirus programs.
  • Exit any Handy CAM softwares – especially task bar icons (Icons like Sony Picture Package Menu)
  • Exit all DVD related softwares in order to avoid .dll crash
  • Exit Lavasoft Ad-Aware program as it may slow down the installation process. Also exit the Lavasoft Ad-Watch program from taskbar, incase if you have enabled it.
  • Disable Local Area Connection (LAN) or Internet Connection.
  • Incase if you are using any Firewall like Zonealarm, Mcafee or Norton, etc., please go into Game Mode before you install SP3

❗ Incase if you experience any error inbetween the setup restart your PC and exit all programs if you have any doubt.

Comments
  1. phiequn says:

    Well enough good i think. But i prefer to use windows vista 🙂

  2. […] took lot of resources when extracting the files. you can download the standalone version from my blohttps://maaruthi.wordpress.com/2008/05/06/windows-xp-service-pack-3-review/BioHotfixes??? – Windows XP Service Pack 3 RC Refresh 2 Build 3282 …Windows XP Service Pack 3 RC […]

  3. Mcafee Uninstaller 6.5…

    oh boy after a long time I got a chance again to install a bunch of digital fruits Drivers – Service……

  4. […] Xp service pack 3 Review. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. …https://maaruthi.wordpress.com/2008/05/06/windows-xp-service-pack-3-review/Windows XP Service Pack – DownloadDownload service pack 3 now to ensure that your version of XP is […]

  5. Ryan says:

    My tech downloaded SP3 and almost totally messed up my computer Toshiba 2006 laptop. Icons on desktop all developed blue boxes around the titles. Icons still will not stay arranged as I want them. They rearrange every time I shut down. When I deleted icons, the whole program deleted. Some programs I want to keep such as Word, etc. Some icons appeared for no good reason either totally unknown (PhotoBase 4.5, NAR Eng Code, Photo IMpress) to me or from files I have but do not want on desktop. He also put SP3 on my custom computer and so far the icons have all developed blue boxes around the titles (which I HATE), Icons move when I turn off the computer, put several icons on that I do not know and I am afraid to delete due to experience with my laptop. I do not want any more of MS new improved programs. If it works, don’t fix it. To top it off, the Geeks(?) (school kids) at Best Buy worked on it and set it for automatic downloads without telling me – good thing the first tech found it at my expense, natch!

  6. Tech Chuck says:

    Ryan you are a mental midget, the long and short of it is you don’t like the service pack because it “messed up all of your icons”. This can be remedied by changing a couple of display settings. You are the type of finicky “luser” that will complain about the most insignificant system change like you lost your left eye and bleeding out of your rectum. I feel for your tech guy when you probably told him that he “screwed up” your sweet custom cpu (a shiny sony viao perhaps), and I laugh when he is telling everyone what a dbag you are.

    Seacrest OUT!

  7. Gurasing says:

    SUCKS the ball…!!!!

  8. Mark says:

    Is there anyway to get the Office 2007 compatibility pack that allows you to open office 2007 docs in office 2003 to work with XP service pack 3? I downloaded it and when I try to open the files it always ask which encoding I want…the only reason that I can come up with is that XP service pack 3 doesn’t work with it…any ideas?

  9. XP pro / user says:

    Clean install: XP Pro; then XP SP2 (IT Version); then SP3 (IT Version). Worked great with no programs installed.

    Discovered adding Comodo Firewall (latest Version 10) blocked XP Pro / SP3 bootup: boot hung at Windows screen. Could get into safe mode but desktop only when all services were turned off.

    Tried a new clean install: XP Pro; then XP SP2 (IT Version)only: Comodo Firewall hung Windows boot.

    Tried a new clean install: XP Pro; then XP SP2 (IT Version); then SP3 (IT Version) – adding Windows firewall and then PGP. Once again the endless hang at boot on the Windows screen.

    Seems SP3 servie pack has security pblms with Comondo Firewall and PGP (Pretty Good Privacy). Right now I made a new clean install: XP Pro; then XP SP2 (IT Version) only. Downloaded 120+ updates – not SP3. Did not add Comodo Firewall. Added PGP. All is going great.

    Created a system restore point in case I decide to once again try SP3.

  10. sandrar says:

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

  11. hello!,I like your writing so much! share we communicate more about your article on AOL? I need an expert on this area to solve my problem. May be that’s you! Looking forward to see you.

  12. skate 4 game says:

    This web page is really a stroll-via for all the data you wished about this and didn’t know who to ask. Glimpse here, and also you’ll definitely uncover it.

  13. Branden says:

    My dream retirement is living on a 45ft center cockpit Hunter sailboat with my man and dog sailing the inter coastal waterways, the Caribbean, and any port I choose.

  14. I can??t actually assist but appreciate your blog web-site, your web-site is adorable and good

  15. Great items from you, man. I’ve bear in mind your stuff prior to and you’re simply extremely magnificent. I actually like what you have got here, certainly like what you’re saying and the way in which during which you assert it. You make it enjoyable and you continue to take care of to stay it wise. I cant wait to learn far more from you. This is really a wonderful website.

  16. Thanks, this can be the worst thing I’ve study

  17. Thank you a lot for providing individuals with an exceptionally brilliant possiblity to read articles and blog posts from this site. It’s usually very terrific and as well , jam-packed with a great time for me and my office friends to visit your site the equivalent of three times in a week to read the fresh issues you have got. And of course, I’m just actually happy for the astounding thoughts you serve. Selected two facts in this article are rather the simplest I have ever had.

  18. Thank you for another informative website. Where else could I get that type of information written in such an ideal way? I’ve a project that I am just now working on, and I’ve been on the look out for such information.

  19. fantastic post, very informative. I wonder why the other experts of this sector do not notice this. You must continue your writing. I am sure, you’ve a huge readers’ base already!

Leave a Reply

