Don’t slipstream XP SP3 on Windows Vista!

Posted: May 5, 2008 in Technology
Tags: ,

This just in from Bink, seems he had a pretty interesting weekend attempting to Slipstream XP SP3.

“So I build a new Windows XP ISO with SP3 integrated, this is a Volume License editions (VOL) which only accepts Volume License Keys (VLK). When I want to install it on a clean machine, I noticed that setup prompts for a product key and it does not allow me to continue, which should be a new feature in XP sp3. OK so I fill in the VLK but it does not accept it, I try another one from a customer of mine, does not work either. Angry

I found out that the problem is when you do the XP Sp3 slipstream process on a WIndows Vista machine, the API gives a different response and screws up the PID process. This is a bug and Microsoft knew about this in December, still the bug remained and made it all the way to RTM, nice work Microsoft.

So XP SP slipstream only on XP or 2003 machines!!!”

News Source: Bink

Comments
  1. DaPhroze says:

    Nice work MS ! Reliable as always 😦
    Luckly i slipstreamed only to iso on vista, didn’t burn any cd yet.

    Thanks for the NFO Maaruthi 🙂

  2. rick says:

    hmmm….I just successfully did it multiple times using Vista Ultimate x64. No problems installing into VM Ware…until you try to slipstream WMP 11 – seems there are some files that do not copy between 64bit to 32bit enviros.

    just an FYI…the latest nLite and SP3 worked just fine…

  3. DaPhroze says:

    @Rick ok, so slipstreaming XPSP3 on Vista might work. Though i dislike the nLite variant, i really wanna have my installation cd’s “clean”. Therefore i use the /integrate function of the SP itself.

    🙂

    Cheers

  4. Once I initially commented I clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now every time a comment is added I get 4 emails with the identical comment. Is there any manner you possibly can take away me from that service? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

